Essential Areas and Projects

Matua Long giving instruction to Kereama in Tech Yr7 4The New Zealand Curriculum identifies 8 Essentials Learning Areas (ELA): English, Learning Languages, Mathematics, Science, Technology, Social Sciences, The Arts, and Health and Physical Well-Being. The curriculum for Villa Education Trust Schools is based on these learning areas and the National Curriculum Statements that are written from them.                                                                            

Key Competencies

The New Zealand Curriculum specifies five groupings of key competencies to be developed by all students across the whole curriculum during their schooling. They are broad groupings and we look to develop the specific skills that make up these groupings and other areas as well. The five key competencies listed in the national curriculum are:

  • thinking
  • using language, symbols, and texts
  • managing self
  • relating to others
  • participating and contributing.

Project List:


Year 7



Year 8


Year 9


Year 10




The Human Circus



Flight and Space




Great Books


Narrative Poetry


New Zealand Writing





A Language & Culture


Language of Music or Movement


Maori or Pacific Island Language and Culture



Advanced Language & Culture




Human Beings






An Artist or

An Era


An Ancient Culture




Film or Director or Genre



Production & Inventions of the Past



Change through Technology


Production of the Present and Future


Business in Action


New Zealand: Places and People



The Oceans


A People or Country or Time



Law and Culture




Great Scientists